PDA

View Full Version : Soaking wood prior to spoon carving

Kristina Thomason
01-20-2016, 11:04 AM
I am new to wood carving- so far all I've been able to accomplish is a few whittled ornaments with a flexcut knife. I'm currently on the waiting list for a Pinewood Forge (PWF) hook knife, sloyd knife, and a few birch spoon blanks since I don't have the tools for shaping my own blanks. I have a while before I receive these items, but I already have a dry cherry blank that I've been trying to hack away at in the meantime. I know that PWF mentions soaking birch prior to carving, but I cannot find any info on soaking cherry. Would soaking cherry make things easier, or is it best left dried and worked with using other tools? Any other woods besides birch that can be soaked? Thanks!!:)

John K Jordan
01-20-2016, 11:32 AM
I don't have the tools for shaping my own blanks.

Sorry, I can't answer your soaking question. (and don't know what PWF is)

I do know one gentleman in South America who said they boil all their bowls (tropical woods) to make them more stable so I suspect soaking won't hurt the wood. I haven't done that with the spoons I've carved.

But as for shaping, do you know anyone with a shop who lives close to you? I routinely share my shop with others who don't have the tools and I suspect many others would be glad to also.

BTW, if you get to know some woodturners nearby you can probably get all the free spoon carving blanks you can use - when I prepare turning blanks I usually end up with tubs full of thinner pieces I don't have much use for but hate to throw away. (I keep over a 100 species on hand for woodturning)

JKJ in East TN

Kristina Thomason
01-20-2016, 11:41 AM
Thanks for the woodturner suggestion! I'll start looking around for some networking opportunities in the Minneapolis area.

John K Jordan
01-20-2016, 12:36 PM
networking opportunities in the Minneapolis area.