PDA

View Full Version : American Flag Inlay?

Rick Contonio
01-18-2016, 4:38 PM
I'm considering a small project involving a cutting board/cheese board item with an American flag inlaid. I've never tried to inlay before and was wondering if anyone has any opinions on efficient ways to inlay stars for the flag?

I don't plan on putting the inlay where cutting would take place, but any thoughts also on a food safe paint for the flag colors? Is there such a thing and should I be concerned about any contamination from the paint?

Thanks!

Brian Henderson
01-18-2016, 4:58 PM
Depends on what your inlay is made of. Here's a video of a guy who does nothing but cutting boards on YouTube, it might answer some questions.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hcChmp1C2qw

Rick Contonio
01-18-2016, 5:46 PM
Nice work. But alas, I have no CNC machine and as much as I would love to play with one, not quite sure my wife would give in to that one. lol

His suggestion of using dowels for the stars seems a bit too much like disrespecting the flag to me.

Brian Henderson
01-18-2016, 6:45 PM
Nice work. But alas, I have no CNC machine and as much as I would love to play with one, not quite sure my wife would give in to that one. lol

His suggestion of using dowels for the stars seems a bit too much like disrespecting the flag to me.

Unfortunately, as he says, I don't think you can reasonably do stars without a CNC. I guess you could spend a couple of months with carving tools, but that's probably what it would take.

Art Mann
01-18-2016, 8:22 PM