PDA

View Full Version : Is this plane toast?

Paul Fisicaro
01-18-2016, 7:08 AM
This is from my Sargent 414 restoration. It's pitted pretty bad. I'm not an expert in planes but that cant be good. Should I start crying now or later?

Nicholas Lawrence
01-18-2016, 7:17 AM
I think "toast" largely depends on your budget. If it is large, that plane is toast and you should be on the phone to Lie Nielsen.

The only way to really know is to try it. It is certainly not ideal, but I have had some decent finishes off of a plane that looks worse than that. I would look closely at the iron. If it is pitted like that, you will have trouble. As others have said, sharp fixes a lot, and if there are pits in the iron, you can have trouble getting a good edge.

Chris Hachet
01-18-2016, 7:19 AM
Or not at all. it does not need to be blemish free to be a good user. If the sole is structurally compromised, it is a parts plane, which is also a useful thing to have.

But the pitting would not bother me. It will never be a pristine tool again, but so what?

I have a WW 2 Era #4 that I use for only rough work....besides, this gives you the excuse to legitimately restore another plane.

Matthew N. Masail
01-18-2016, 7:22 AM
Toast? far from it, just get the sole flat and it'll work as well as any. saying that's toast is like saying a duck with irregular colors can't swim...

Paul Fisicaro
01-18-2016, 7:38 AM
Thanks for the input, guys. It's almost complete, painted fresh, flat on all sides. It came with a very small iron from a #3 plane so Im looking for a replacement blade and then ill give the ole girl a few laps around the track and see what she's got.

Chris Hachet
01-18-2016, 8:03 AM
Thanks for the input, guys. It's almost complete, painted fresh, flat on all sides. It came with a very small iron from a #3 plane so Im looking for a replacement blade and then ill give the ole girl a few laps around the track and see what she's got.

Let us know how it works out!

Pat Barry