PDA

View Full Version : 2 way radios

Jack Clague
01-18-2016, 1:22 AM
Hi SMC guru's

Any idea what the majority of 2-way radio cases are made from?

I have been asked to engrave a large number for a local airport with registration numbers and i am struggling to find info on the type of plastic used for the majority of them. should get my hands on one tomorrow so i can check online at manufacturer specs but anything to be concerned of?

obviously this will be a creep up on it scenario if the plastic is suitable

Jack

Doug Griffith
01-18-2016, 11:34 AM
Most likely ABS.

Mark Ross
01-18-2016, 3:38 PM
Jack,

Most likely it is polycarbonite or ABS or something like that. Definitely would have to be good plastic as it has to stand up to wear and tear. I highly doubt it is anything made out of PVC.

Jack Clague
01-18-2016, 4:54 PM
Was thinking the same, thanks guys

Kev Williams
01-18-2016, 11:49 PM
I've been engraving Motorola 2-way radios for over 20 years, but never with a laser. I believe the cases are an ABS, but my customers won't let me practice on one with a laser so I'll just keep tool-engraving them...

Bruce Clumpner
01-19-2016, 11:14 AM
Track down a repair depot for the make & model you're interested in... I'm sure they have some broken cases you can practice on, and maybe cultivate another customer for the work as well...

Real Mercier
01-19-2016, 12:17 PM
I laser engrave Motorola 2-Way radios for a local ambulance service. They engrave fine. No problem.

Hope that helps.

Real Mercier

Jack Clague
01-19-2016, 6:31 PM
I laser engrave Motorola 2-Way radios for a local ambulance service. They engrave fine. No problem.

Hope that helps.

Real Mercier

Thanks Real, mind sharing your settings?

Bill Cunningham
01-22-2016, 3:01 PM