PDA

View Full Version : Delta 50-850 Dust Collector

William Parks
09-07-2005, 10:06 PM
This is kind of a gloat as I just bought this used 3 month old DC with a 1 micron bag a garbage can with one of those molded plastic chip sparators, and a remote switching unit from PSI Woodworking all for $150. Sure beats the little Jet 650 I've been using for a couple of years. However the 4" intakes on the DC connected to the 4" fittings on the chip separator just don't feed the bulldog; there is such a loss of suction even though every connection/ fitting is sealed tight.

My question.... Since I need just 1 main line about 12'-15' long has anyone had success in modifying this DC by removing the dual 4" intakes and replacing it with a single 5" or 6" intake. The plate that holds the "Y" is screwed on to the impeller base so I'm thinking one could remove that plate and replace it with a larger intake but not sure with what/how? I would probably eliminate any chip separator all together to maximize my air flow although the thoughts of a cyclone separator would be nice so long as I didn't loose to much suction at the far end.

Suggestions or ideas would be most appreciated.

Bob Dodge
09-07-2005, 11:23 PM
Hi William,

Your dc-850 has enormous potential. Congratulations on a smart buy.

Check out the cfm ratings of the dc's in this test. You'll see that the 850 beat all of the 2hp dc's, except the Jet 1200, which had a 12" impeller, and twin filters. That version of the 850 (there have been 3 versions), had an 11" impeller as I recollect. The reason both of those rated so highly, was the porting. Both had 6" intakes, and 6" blower outlets, to run to the bag-tree. That's a very free-breathing design.

http://www.rd.com/americanwoodworker/toolguide/TT_DustCollection.pdf