PDA

View Full Version : Which Waterstone?

Kurt Cady
01-13-2016, 8:51 PM
Ok...I know this is the millionth sharpening thread...but

I'm relatively new to hand tools but I got some Shapton stones for xmas. 1000 and 5000 and do to an oversight on my list I got both 8000 and 12000. Being as I'm just getting started with lots of other tools to buy, I don't see the need for both the 8k and 12k and can allocate those funds elsewhere. This lead to numerous searches about which to keep...and I stumbled upon numerous threads talking about the 5000 shapton being a dog of a stone and the sigma6000 being much better.

So, I guess my question is this. Seeing as I have the shapton5000 in hand, is the sigma pro 6000 that much better of a stone? And if so, would the sigma stone fit in well with other shaptons? Seems the shapton1000 is highly regarded. Would you go with a shapton 8000 or 12000? I guess put another way...if you could choose three stones out of shapton 1k, 5k, 8k 12k and sigma 6k, what would you choose?

I should also note that I don't have easy access to water in my shop, and my shop time is very limited, so I really like the splash and go idea of the shapton. It seems from reading that the sigma6k can be used and performs well as a splash and go stone.

i should also add that I have everything from Narex chisels, old Stanley planes and A2 and PM11 steel

Jim Koepke
01-13-2016, 9:09 PM
Maybe it is just my confusion, but are you saying you can return some of the stones for credit or cash to use for other purposes?

My stone inventory keeps growing and it would be hard for me to think about letting any go but a few of the dogs.

Among my water stones the 4000 & 8000 do most of the work. The 1000 only gets used on chipped or nicked blades.

In real cold weather my oilstones take to doing the work.

The "running water" in my shop is poured from a 1 gallon milk jug or sprayed from a bottle.