PDA

View Full Version : Got 2 Kreg Pocket Hole Jigs for Christmas, any need for both?

Steven Pearson
01-12-2016, 10:11 PM
Hello everyone,

I am a beginner in woodworking. I have built mostly 2x4 shelves, workbenches, and fish tank stands. I also built what I think is a pretty nice front porch. I would like to try my hand at some basic furniture now. From what I see in plans, most basic tables and chairs need pocket holes. So for Christmas, I asked my family for a KREG K3 JR (http://www.amazon.com/Kreg-R3-Pocket-Hole-System/dp/B000J43A7W/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1452653802&sr=8-2&keywords=kreg). I figured it should be all I need to get going for quite some time.

Well, I ended up getting the K3, as well as a KREG K4 (http://www.amazon.com/Kreg-K4-Pocket-Hole-System/dp/B001DYFISG/ref=sr_1_12?ie=UTF8&qid=1452653802&sr=8-12&keywords=kreg).

Now my question is, if I just keep the K4, is there ever a time when I would need the smaller K3? Is the K4 overkill for the basic projects I will be making?

I am pretty broke, so returning one of the two is ideal if I don't really need them both. I hate to part with the K4 as it seems like a much better tool, but I am just basing this off appearance and Amazon reviews.

ken masoumi
01-12-2016, 10:36 PM
I have owned K3jr for the past 4-5 years and did plenty pocket holes with it for the first 2 years but then I moved on to other types of joinery and nowadays I use it less often, I can tell you that K3 will do just about everything the other models do but slower , more time to set up,etc. . I never found myself wishing I had the "better"/more expensive version of it .

Mike Berrevoets
01-12-2016, 10:48 PM
I have an older/simpler version of the k3. If it broke tomorrow I'd buy the K3 and not spend anymore for the K4. The main purpose is to drill a hole at the correct angle and depth. To me the K3 would accomplish that just fine as has the older simpler version that I have.