PDA

View Full Version : New Sander

Edward Weingarden
01-11-2016, 8:51 AM
My angle sander just died so I'm looking for a new one. The decisions include air powered ROS vs electric, and non-ROS vs ROS. Question #2 is...if I use air powered, what size compressor is appropriate? Thanks.

Justin Stephen
01-11-2016, 9:41 AM
The answers in this thread will get you going while you wait for new replies:

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?192771-Air-compressor-requirements-for-power-sanding

I would be interested to try it but my little Makita MAC2400 (which I otherwise adore since it is so quiet) doesn't have the CFM to support it. I have been using the same $40 Neiko electric angle drill for about two years now and I haven't killed it yet.

Prashun Patel
01-11-2016, 10:04 AM
I'm on my second Neiko. Hard to beat the price. However, I am thinking seriously about getting a 3" Mirka Ceros. Dust collection's really good on their larger sander (I have one). It also is super light and non fatiguing. I also find ROS better than straight orbital for removing sanding marks.

The problem is, to avail yrself of the dc, you'll need abranet or a source of 3" H&L with holes. All the stuff I find is solid.

Reed Gray
01-11-2016, 11:56 AM
I have an old Sioux pneumatic angle drill that I used for a bit. It keeps the compressor running non stop. The random orbit sanders seem to work much better for the higher grits, 220 and above, the seemed to me to be really slow for the coarser grits.

Prashun, you might talk to Vince about abrasives with holes. Not sure if he could do that or not. If it is the standard 6 holes instead of the bunches of little holes, that might be more difficult.

robo hippy

Bob Bergstrom
01-11-2016, 12:42 PM