PDA

View Full Version : Need advise on dovetail saw.

Lasse Hilbrandt
01-09-2016, 5:36 PM
I almost won an auction on ebay on a Lie Nielsen dovetail saw but was outbid the last second. Im almost happy that happened since I prefer a vintage. But I need help because Im a novice.
Which brand to look for. ?
Ppi?

This will be my first dovetail saw so I want it to be kind of an allround.

Mike Brady
01-09-2016, 5:50 PM
I'm not here to tell you what to like, but the Lie-Nielson saw is excellent. I would suggest a new saw as opposed to one that needs work because you state that this is your first joinery saw. Like any edge tool, they only work if sharp. I have seen many used L-N saws for sale but not at any kind of deep discount. You would pay a hundred for one, I'm sure. The Lee Valley saw is a lower price, but it is a compromise in its appearance; (my opinion).

lowell holmes
01-09-2016, 6:15 PM
The pedigree of the Lie Nielsen is thoroughbred. IMHO, you can't go wrong with it.
The reason the for prices of used LN saws is that they are good. For a long time, they were considered to be a fantasy saw.
They were when I bought mine.

I would consider Ron Bontz.

Patrick Chase
01-09-2016, 6:18 PM
I'm not here to tell you what to like, but the Lie-Nielson saw is excellent. I would suggest a new saw as opposed to one that needs work because you state that this is your first joinery saw. Like any edge tool, they only work if sharp. I have seen many used L-N saws for sale but not at any kind of deep discount. You would pay a hundred for one, I'm sure. The Lee Valley saw is a lower price, but it is a compromise in its appearance; (my opinion).