PDA

View Full Version : Bandsaw Blades for Ripping?

Jason Williams
12-31-2015, 2:46 PM
I'm rather new to bandsawing and need a little guidance. We manufacture carving blocks out of basswood and we were having trouble ripping thicker stock on our table saw. We invested in a 3hp bandsaw and we are looking for carbide tipped blades that would be good for ripping and also for making smooth cross cuts (if such a blade exists). We were looking at a Magnate M124E1T3 for ripping but we are open to any suggestions.

Erik Loza
12-31-2015, 3:10 PM
Lenox Woodmaster CT is my go-to carbide blade. As wide as your machine will properly tension.

Be advised, though: Carbide-tipped blades require A LOT of frame strength on the part of the machine in order to get them cutting straight. Not sure what bandsaw you have but there are a lot more bandsaws that won't tension a 1.0" carbide properly, than will.

Erik

Jason Williams
12-31-2015, 11:04 PM
Lenox Woodmaster CT is my go-to carbide blade. As wide as your machine will properly tension.

Be advised, though: Carbide-tipped blades require A LOT of frame strength on the part of the machine in order to get them cutting straight. Not sure what bandsaw you have but there are a lot more bandsaws that won't tension a 1.0" carbide properly, than will.

Erik

Thanks for the reply. We ordered the Rikon 10-351 14" Bandsaw

Lee Schierer
01-01-2016, 8:36 AM
Thanks for the reply. We ordered the Rikon 10-351 14" Bandsaw

A 14" bandsaw will not handle a 1" blade. 1/2" or maybe 3/4" is the upper limit for a 14" saw.

Patrick Curry
01-01-2016, 9:22 AM
Since you mentioned this was a business I'll suggest you consider a larger bandsaw.

I've not used a 1/2" blade on a 14" saw as was suggested, but my guess is that in the long run the company would be better off with 1" blade on a 18" saw if your resawing wide stock.

I have that setup and it cuts smoothly & effortlessly.

Tom M King
01-01-2016, 9:55 AM