PDA

View Full Version : Bought a New Cordless Drill

Jim Koepke
12-20-2015, 2:55 PM
My old Makita finally died. Bought some new batteries a few years ago, they seemed to be losing their charge quicker. The transmission would skip at times when changing speeds. Finally the trigger switch started to be a bit flakey. If a replacement switch was less than the prices I found I might have replaced it and limped along. With new batteries being needed soon, it seemed like time to shop for new. When I brought it up with my wife she said, "I have been hinting at you to replace that thing for a few years now." She has her good points, think I'll keep her.

So looked around and settled on the DeWALT DC970K-2, 1/2", 18V kit.

There was a difference in price depending on the choice of local store. Of course the low price retailer didn't show it in stock. The highest price was $30 higher than the low price and the middle was +$10 over the low price. Called the high price dealer and talked to the manager. He said he could come in between the other two. I would have been happy with a price match to the second lowest price.

That is my kind of customer service and he got my business. Of course we bought a few other items in the store.

Remember, if you don't ask you will never know. I did start with, "this has to be the hardest part of having a small store... "

Now for the interesting part. My Makita had battery packs that were sealed. The DeWALT has screws around the perimeter of the battery case. I am not about to take apart a new battery, but when the time comes this looks like a great thing for those of us who would venture to repair our own batteries.

I have only driven a few screws with it so far, but it seems to have a lot more power than my old cordless drill.

jtk

Bruce Page
12-20-2015, 3:19 PM
I hope you have good luck with it. I'll never buy anything with Ni-Cad batteries again. I'm on my 3rd set of batteries for my DeWalt 14v drill.

Brian Henderson