PDA

View Full Version : Left Versus Right of TS Against Wall?

Terry Thillemann
12-16-2015, 7:52 PM
I'm creating a small wood shop in my basement which is rectangular. My TS has 1 wing to the left, 2 wings to the right, and a RT extension all the way to the right. I'm planning to position the table perpendicular to the long wall and am confused which side should be closest to one of the walls, the left or right. If I put the left side closest to the wall the RT will have room for me to work in front of it without moving the saw; however, this limits how much material can go to the left of the blade, 22" on my saw with ~38" to the right. I'm new to the hobby so am not familiar with whether I'd typically have the larger piece of wood on the left or right of the blade. Putting the right side of the TS to the wall allows more space for the left but then I have to roll the saw out whenever I want to use the RT.

Thoughts?

glenn bradley
12-16-2015, 8:25 PM
The piece against the fence is usually my "keeper". This means it is usually smaller than what I am cutting it from (although not always of course). My saw is right-side-to-the-wall. I should mention that this is also an area where electrical and DC ductwork pass and is pretty much a no-man's land in my shop.

My current rig:

327297 . 327296

My previous saw:

Mike Wilkins
12-17-2015, 4:04 PM
Sounds like you need to install some type of mobility to your set-up. I have always placed the right side of my saws against the wall, but I don't have a router table in my right side wing. You are right that a left-mounted saw will limit your cutting capacity there, which would be limiting for a lot of tasks. There are lots of options for adding mobility bases to woodworking machines.

Ben Rivel
12-17-2015, 6:23 PM
Sounds to me like you need to have room on both sides of that setup which means youre going to have to get it mobile so you can move it when needed.

Andrew Pitonyak
12-18-2015, 9:05 AM