PDA

View Full Version : RAS blade

Rick Potter
12-16-2015, 12:45 PM
Time for a new blade on my 12" DeWalt 7790 RAS. I cut either sheet goods or red oak most of the time. 2" thick max, and seldom that. I am leaning towards forrest, but wonder about others, like Carbide Processors. I have been using a 100 tooth DeWalt blade for several years, but want a negative hook blade this time.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Charlie Velasquez
12-16-2015, 2:03 PM
The general consensus on the Dewalt RAS forum:
"The LU83is the suggested Freud blade to use or the Forrest WW1 TCP or the Forrest WW1 48T Router Tooth for ripping."

The WWI is special order by phone to Forrest.

Although the 790 says 12", I would stay with a 10". I often switch to a 7.25" when doing construction cutting, especially on treated.

Negative hook is nice, but low angle is more important. I think the WWI is a +5*, and the LU83 is positive, also. The key is to keep it sharp and clean, and the stock well confined.

lowell holmes
12-16-2015, 2:21 PM
I haven't used my radial arm saw in a while, but it has a high quality carbide tooth blade made with the proper hook angle for radial arm saw use. It really is something of a safety factor as well as superior cutting. IIRC, mine is a Forrest.

scott spencer
12-16-2015, 3:58 PM
Forrest and Carbide Processors are both great choices. I'd also add Infinity (http://www.infinitytools.com/12-Mitre-Saw-Blade-90T-1-Arbor-110-Kerf/productinfo/012-190/) to the list....never been less than totally impressed with every cutter I've used from them.

Erik Christensen
12-16-2015, 4:02 PM