PDA

View Full Version : A Question About CA Glue

Steve Arnold
12-15-2015, 12:42 PM
I'm still very new to all of this, so bear with me. I understand that CA glue is needed on some projects here, but I know that I've had pretty bad luck with Crazy Glue and Super Glue drying up in the past. When I buy the small tubes and bottles of it for household projects, I can only use it once or twice before it becomes plugged and I have to throw it away.

How the heck do you guys preserve your larger bottles of CA glue so that you're not constantly buying new bottles of the stuff??

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Michael Mason
12-15-2015, 1:19 PM
Keep them in the fridge. Some people also recommend to pour the large bottle into the small bottles and fill them pretty full to keep the air out. Starbond is the cheapest source I know of, you have to call them and they will email you a price sheet.

allen thunem
12-15-2015, 1:29 PM
i keep mine in the freezer.
if you buy from starbond you can buy extra bottles and tops
when the tips become clogged change them out with new ones and let the clogged tips soak in acetone.
the key is to keep the tips clean.

Scott DelPorte
12-15-2015, 1:45 PM
They make these plastic applicator tips that have a very small diameter pipe to help you pinpoint where you apply the glue. They slip on the end of the glue bottle and have the added benefit of keeping the glue from drying out because its difficult to diffuse air the length of the small diameter tube. I "seal" the end of the small applicator with a piece of masking tape between uses.

I use them all the time, and occasionally the very end of the tube will plug with dried glue, but I just snip the very tip off and I'm back in business. I mostly use CA for little repairs or for quickly making jigs, and keep a couple different thicknesses on hand at all times. A 1 oz bottle seems to last about a year without having to throw any out because of drying.

Robert Henrickson
12-15-2015, 1:46 PM