PDA

View Full Version : How to cut?

Tyler Olson
12-11-2015, 2:31 PM
Hello everyone

I am very new to the wood milling world. A friend of mine gave me some large piece of wood to use, but i am not sure how to cut it to usable sizes. I have talked to a few mills in my area and they do not have the ability to cut them due to size so I was hope i might find help here doing it myself. Both Piece are 35" -46" Dim and range from 5" - 12" think. Ant help would be appreciated.

John Sanford
12-11-2015, 4:52 PM
"Usable size" depends entirely on what you plan on using it for. As an example, you could build a "router sled" leveling fixture, rout the "top" of the one fully visible in the pciture level, put some standoffs into it, and put a glass top on it. voila, usable just as is to make a large coffee table.

Conversely, if you want to make a set of large matching pub tables, you would likely want to slice the piece like a banana. To do that you'd probably need a skilled chainsaw artisan to come in from one or two sides, slicing off rounds.

Tyler Olson
12-11-2015, 5:16 PM
I would like to cut them down to 2" thickness but i like the idea about the glass top. and i would like to do the cutting myself. what kind of chainsaw would one need?

Todd Burch
12-11-2015, 6:10 PM
Depends. You'll need a chainsaw with a bar at least 1/2 the diameter of the biggest piece you want to cut. And that prescription is for free handing it.

Tyler Olson
12-11-2015, 6:30 PM
Is there any jig i can build to aid in cutting?

Todd Burch
12-11-2015, 6:56 PM
You can build or buy a chainsaw slabbing attachment. That will require a bar with a length > the largest round you want to cut. Videos all over Youtube about slabbing mills.

Bob Coates
12-11-2015, 6:57 PM
Here is one. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-JCwwCxkROw
by Reed Gray.

ryan paulsen
12-12-2015, 7:58 AM