PDA

View Full Version : Anti-vibration gloves

Robert L Stewart
12-10-2015, 2:30 PM
Has anyone found the perfect glove for random orbit sanding? There are plenty of choices out there.

Robert

John TenEyck
12-10-2015, 2:36 PM
Not to be a smart Alec, but you might be better served by getting a sander with anti vibration built into it. Now if you are talking about sanding for several hours straight I could see how a glove might provide additional protection, but for any "typical" sanding operation one of the low vib ROS's should work well. I have a Bosch ROS65VSK and it has almost no vibration. I'm told Festool are very good in that department, too, but I have no firsthand experience.

John

Roger Feeley
12-10-2015, 2:55 PM
+1 on choosing the right sander. Until about 10 years ago, I used my dads 1/3 sheet Craftsman orbital sander from the late 60's. My hands would go numb. Then the bride got me a Porter Cable with some vibration counter balancing and the difference was night and day. The Craftsman went into the garbage. I still use that PC sander and I bet things have gotten better yet in the years since.

Pat Houle
12-10-2015, 3:23 PM
I have Stihl gloves that I use when using my chainsaw and they are phenomenal at reducing the vibration from the saw. I'm sure they would do the same for a ROS. They are super comfortable too!

http://en.stihl.ca/footwear-and-gloves.aspx
Anti-vibration gloves

They are 25$ CND a pair

Robert L Stewart
12-10-2015, 3:36 PM
Not to be a smart Alec, but you might be better served by getting a sander with anti vibration built into it. Now if you are talking about sanding for several hours straight I could see how a glove might provide additional protection, but for any "typical" sanding operation one of the low vib ROS's should work well. I have a Bosch ROS65VSK and it has almost no vibration. I'm told Festool are very good in that department, too, but I have no firsthand experience.

John

Thanks John,