PDA

View Full Version : Calling past toy makers - How did you make money?

Brian Sommers
12-10-2015, 1:10 PM
I'm working on this one truck and it's taking me way to long. Grant it - I'm a beginner.

Those of you who used to make and sell toys how fast could you make a "standard" toy? (yes, I know standard there is very very subjective)

I'm not sure I'll be able to make them fast enough to keep my price down.

Garth Almgren
12-10-2015, 2:20 PM
Only based on what I've read, templates and jigs are really the key. Anything that helps you to batch parts out really, really quickly.

Frank Drackman
12-10-2015, 2:43 PM
Not a toy maker but I think I have a general understanding of the issue. I find that unless you have high-end commisions you have to turn you shop into a little factory and make batches of specific parts then production runs of a specific model. Trying to make one offs felt like pushing a large wheel uphill.

I think that it also helps if your design looks really complicated... but isn't.

Steve Peterson
12-10-2015, 3:53 PM
We usually spend a day with the family at one of the local craft fairs. This is a place that is open from labor day through Christmas with a reasonable amount of foot traffic. One of the vendors makes wooden trucks and other toys. My son keeps asking for a jet plane and I kept saying that we could build a much better one. I ended up just buying one for $20 because we haven't found the time to make one yet.

After looking at it closely, it is obvious that the guy builds them very quickly. Most are made from pine, redwood, or doug fir. There are very few cuts and very little sanding. The finish looks like it was dipped in poly and left to dry. However, it still has a nice pleasing look while still retaining the "handmade" character. Only a woodworker will notice the flaws. My 10 year old son loves it.