PDA

View Full Version : New to the world of laser engraving, need help to set up a project

Jean-Nicolas Raymond
12-09-2015, 10:20 PM
Hi everyone. I am new to the world of laser cutting and engraving. I have a project and I need your help as I know nothing about what I will need. I'm looking to do acrylic tokens and I'd like some tips on achieving this project. Tokens are similar to these:

http://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0196/1722/products/NetrunnerTokens-8_small.jpg?v=1421871232

I'm planning to make the tokens out of coloured transparent acrylic. Size should be about half an inch to an inch in diameter and 3mm thick. There will be engraving and cutting to do. If you can help me, here are the questions I have for you:

-How can I calculate the time it will take to create one token base on the spec of a specific machine. I understand that machine are different therefore it would be impossible to calculate the time to cut base only on my project. However if there is an average and you can provide it base on my information, it would be great.

-What type of machine would you recommend for this? Someone told me I would need a 40w machine but I really know nothing at this point. What should I expect to spend on said machine and what spaces does it take. Should I go the chinese way, the used way or the american way? Someone recommended me a A LG3040/LG500 from G.Weike but I'm afraind of chinese machine, mostly for technical support. Another friend suggested instead that I verify with epilog lader or trodec. What would you guys suggest. I don't expct the machine to be running 40 hours a week at the moment but mainly a few hours in the weekend maybe and maybe a night or two in the week.