PDA

View Full Version : Encouragement if you have Turner's Block

Brian Kent
12-05-2015, 1:59 PM
One thing that has made my woodworking life much more satisfying is to recognize my annual work patterns. It is OK that for 2 to 3 months each year I do very little turning. I now know this is seasonal and normal for me, and that the inspiration and energy always returns.

There are a couple of factors in my life. YMMV.

I have seasonal mood changes based on the amount of light. I discovered this while living in Russia, in a place about the same latitude as Southern Alaska. But even in a place with great sunlight - San Diego - I still feel it.

My work load changes this time of year. I am a pastor and there are a whole lot of services, year-end meetings, and personal care contacts with people activities in November / December.

Another smaller factor is that people get a lot of colds this time of year. My body usually wins the battle, but it still uses a lot of energy.

So I am very happy when I get anything done in November through January. The surge of creativity returns in February through October. I hope you will not get down on yourself when you have seasons of inactivity in your shop.

Thom Sturgill
12-05-2015, 2:48 PM
For me, a symposium is the greatest inspiration to get back to turning. Our local one is the first week in Feb.

Mike Peace
12-05-2015, 4:08 PM