PDA

View Full Version : Help - Slot Mortising Bits Slipping in Wescott Chuck

John TenEyck
11-20-2015, 5:39 PM
I bought 1/2" and 3/4" Amana slot mortising bits (see link below) for my Mini Max FS35 J/P mortiser, which has a Wescott chuck. I've never used it before. I chucked in the 3/4" bit like I would a router bit, not quite bottoming it in the chuck, and tightened it as tight as I could with the 4 or 5" Allen wrench. I made two mortises about 2 inches deep by 3 inches long without problems, taking 1/16 - 1/8" passes. They looked pretty good. So then I tried another mortising by plunging full depth on each end first. Uh Oh. I got about 1/2" deep on the first hole and then the bit slipped in the chuck. Crap. I stopped the machine and checked the bit. It's now slightly scored on the shank.

So what am I doing wrong here? Is a Wescott chuck not even designed for round shank bits? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

John

http://www.toolstoday.com/p-5886-up-shear-bit-slot-mortiser-router-bit.aspx?&variantids=9783,0&keywords=45540

Rod Sheridan
11-20-2015, 6:10 PM
John, whenever I've used a slot mortise I go in a few mm, sweep side to side, go in a few mm, repeat.

I've never tried to do a deep cut in any other way.........Rod.

John TenEyck
11-20-2015, 7:07 PM
Yeah, that's how I did the first two. Have you ever had any problems with the bits slipping in the chuck? The chuck just doesn't seem to grip the bit all that securely. The jaws on the chuck have flat surfaces. The bit is round. Just doesn't sound like a good combination yet all the slot mortising bits I see (on-line) are round.

John

Jeff Duncan
11-20-2015, 7:20 PM
My experience has been the same as Rod's and never had any problems with slipping. Trying to do a full depth run with a 3/4" bit is a substantial bite to say the least. My chuck only goes to 5/8" and even then I do the shallow passes.

good luck,
JeffD

Peter Quinn
11-20-2015, 7:50 PM