PDA

View Full Version : Bacon, Hot Dogs and Cancer Risk

Andrew Joiner
11-10-2015, 11:01 AM
You probably heard the news. Most reports said the WHO (World Health Organization) found processed meats increase your cancer risk by 18%. If you study it you find other numbers. The average risk for Americans of getting colorectal cancer is 5% on the average diet. Eat more than a hot dog a day and your risk is now 6% according to WHO.

Google Bacon 18% 5% 6% to see all kinds of news like:
An 18% increase in that risk means the risk rises from 5% to just under 6%. That's the absolute risk. The 18% is called the relative risk.

I'm not a big processed meat or bacon eater so I didn't really mourn on hearing the 18% news. I was just surprised how deep you had to look beyond the headlines to get the whole picture.

Michael Weber
11-10-2015, 11:35 AM
Interesting, thanks for posting that.

Bert Kemp
11-10-2015, 12:18 PM
I guess I'm high risk with my 5 or 6 lbs of bacon and 50 to 60 hot dogs I eat a year. Guess I better cut back.

Myk Rian
11-10-2015, 1:25 PM
You know what? It's all a bunch of hooey.
They say processed meats are bad, but we are in no way going to stop having it. Eggs were bad at one recent time. Now they're good.
We poisoned ourselves in the 40s and 50s with all the open air nuclear testing. Why should we worry about what we eat? It's too late for that.

Tom M King
11-10-2015, 2:43 PM
Anyone who eats anything is going to die.

Dave Anderson NH
11-10-2015, 3:54 PM
And to further Tom's comment, anyone who eats nothing is going to die too. Just remember the base death rate is one per.:D

Mike Cutler
11-10-2015, 4:29 PM
100% of all people that develop cancer have drank water. I guess we should all stop drinking water. :eek::rolleyes:

Art Mann
11-10-2015, 4:42 PM
I am surprised that anything published by the World Health Organisation is taken seriously.

Allan Speers
11-10-2015, 5:47 PM