PDA

View Full Version : LP SmartSide for Interior Base/Casing

Doug Berg
11-09-2015, 3:51 PM
Little background... I'm a framing carpenter by trade, also worked with many finish/trim crews. The last few years I moved into the office and starting designing kitchen and selling cabinets. My Fiance and I are remodeling our 100 year old family farmhouse and I'm looking for interior trim options.

I have considered using primed pine or MDF... but I know that I'm not going to be happy with it. I've considered buying from a millwork company... but the prices seem high. I can't find a local source for poplar....

So now I'm thinking... may I should use LP SmartSide trim. It comes in 16' lengths, 5/4 and 4/4, and smooth primed. It's readily available at the local Menards. I would think that it should be extremely durable and last a long time if it's meant for exterior use. I will be siding the entire house with 4" Lap SmartSide.

A 16' x 4/4 x 4" primed trim board at Menards is about $11.50.

Has anyone every done this, or does anyone have any input/suggestions/opinions?

Thanks in advance

Peter Kelly
11-09-2015, 5:47 PM
If you know you aren't going to be happy with pre-primed MDF, what makes you think you'd be any more ok with SmartSide for interiors? Isn't it also a composite wood product?

Sure you've thought of it already but I'd strongly suggest ordering the exterior Smart Side as pre-painted. Saves a tremendous amount of time and the finish quality is going be much more consistent and tougher than what can be applied on-site.

Tom M King
11-09-2015, 6:17 PM
It's less dense than MDF. I've used the Smartside exterior panels inside closets, tackrooms, and our dogroom, but used wood for the trim.
http://starbornhavanese.com/images/DSCN5733.JPG

Doug Berg
11-09-2015, 6:33 PM
If you know you aren't going to be happy with pre-primed MDF, what makes you think you'd be any more ok with SmartSide for interiors? Isn't it also a composite wood product?