PDA

View Full Version : Best Finish for Salad / Food Bowls

Mike Cyros
08-29-2005, 10:06 PM
This question has been asked many times in the past I'm sure, and always seems to get a different answer. What recommendations do you have for the best (includes being safe) finish for bowls for food like salad bowls. Is a pure mineral oil really the best way to go? Nut, vegetable oils? What do you recommend as the best source?

Thanks for your advice!

Blake McCully
08-30-2005, 6:44 AM
This question has been asked many times in the past I'm sure, and always seems to get a different answer. What recommendations do you have for the best (includes being safe) finish for bowls for food like salad bowls. Is a pure mineral oil really the best way to go? Nut, vegetable oils? What do you recommend as the best source?

Thanks for your advice!
Mike,
I'm not an expert, and I'm sure the experts out there will give advice, all I can do is spout recommendations from others. One theory, is that nearly any finish will become food safe. The trick is, to wait until the odor of the finish has completely left the item, I'm not sold on this. Ray Raffan uses a mixture of bees wax and peanut oil. Most articles I've read suggest that you do not use any kind of vegetable oil since it can become rancid. There is a commercially available finish called "salad oil" that is also suggested. I've also read that using food grade mineral oil is also safe.

Now that I've muddied the waters a whole bunch, take this for what it's worth :rolleyes: I'm sure you'll get a ton more advice. Now, you job, should you choose to take it, is to try, try, and try again until you get what suits you.

Adam Howard
08-30-2005, 8:11 AM
I use Tried and True Original Wood Finish. It's a highly polymerized linseed oil, and beeswax. This is really good stuff.

Unlike regular linseed oil, this is made without any heavy metal drying agents, so is food safe.

Here are the specifics...