PDA

View Full Version : Dovetail jigs/ which bit,which bushing, which comb size??

Dominick Giarraputo
08-29-2005, 10:03 PM
This is my first time posting and I would like to say hello to all. I was hoping to get some help on dovetail jigs. I recently built a version of the jig from the "Woodsmith" magazine plans and it works great but it only gives info on using a 1/2" bit with a 7/16" bushing. Can anyone enlighten me on what bits to use with what bushings and what template spacing? I would like to make different size templates to cut different size joints but I can't find any info to give me a starting place. Just to see what would happen, I tried a 3/8" bit using a 7/16" bushing and the same template and Ooo boy, tails on seroids, pins too small... this would be wrong! I would also like to attempt to make a template to cut through dovetails....but once again, where do I start?

Any help would be greatly appreceated.

Thanks,

Jim Hager
08-30-2005, 9:50 AM
Can't really help you on your dovetail problem but welcome to the creek anyway.:D I use the porter cable 24" dovetail machine. Kinda pricy a few years back and now they have an even better model out for a little better price. It had a learning curve too!! I leave it set up and do the same thing with it so I don't have to change anything much. I have a dedicated router for it to so I don't have to fuss with the bit too often.

Dominick Giarraputo
08-30-2005, 6:36 PM
Jim, Thanks for the welcome note. I think we're in the same boat as far as not changing the settings too much. I only have one project in the works that I need to do drawers for which doesn't justify me buying a pricy jig to maybe use only once or twice. That's what prompted me to build one instead. For the most part, it does a fantastic job. I just thought if I could expand it's veristility a little it might statisfy an future needs.

Jim Becker
08-30-2005, 9:00 PM