PDA

View Full Version : Brand new Nordfab and it leaks a bit.

Patrick Walsh
10-25-2015, 8:12 PM
Is this normal.

I installed it all a few weeks ago now. It collects hooked up to my new Felder RL125 unbelievable. I went to use a few of my machines for the first time since getting the machine and hooking up the duct. After spending about a half day in the shop i became aware of a slight hiss. After investigating i able to find a number of connection points in the duct where a minor amount of air was escaping.

So is this normal. I'm new to Nordfab and really dont know what to expect. I guess i expected it to be air tight for the price of the stuff?

Martin Wasner
10-25-2015, 8:49 PM
I think in the big picture, a hiss is nothing compared to the air you're moving. Throw a piece of tape on it, call it done.

Patrick Walsh
10-25-2015, 9:10 PM
I already threw a couple pieces of tape on a couple of the leaks. It just seemed wrong putting metal tape all over my duct work that is supposed to be able to be torn down with ease.

Yeah a bit of tape solves the problem and is no big deal. On the other hand i was kinda shocked.

Suppose i really should nor be as surprised as i am.

I think in the big picture, a hiss is nothing compared to the air you're moving. Throw a piece of tape on it, call it done.

James Baker SD
10-25-2015, 10:54 PM
I hate to ask a stupid question, but do your connecting clamps have the foam sealers inside them?

I have nordfab and have not noticed any leaks, but then with the noise from the DC (Oneida cyclone in an adjacent room), I would never hear a hiss and I haven't specifically looked for leaks in any systematic way. I have replaced the foam in a few of my clamps though as in the early stages there was a lot of trial and error assembly that was hard on the foam.

Patrick Walsh
10-26-2015, 5:55 AM
Yup i have foam strips.

the foam is kinda inferior though. Maybe i could beef it up?