PDA

View Full Version : Thickness Guidelines With Respect To Cupping

Raphael Weil
10-23-2015, 9:29 AM
Hi guys,

I'm a novice woodworker mostly creating panels for art pieces. I mill them at a shop, and I primarily use cherry and maple. The topic of using 12" wide 4/4 came up at the shop (as it's a fairly rare width for a single board), and I was told I'd have a lot of trouble combating cupping in my art pieces. My panels will primarily by 12" by 15" and anywhere between 3/4" thick to 1" thick. I finish all sides with shellac or a poly right now. If these pieces are primarily going to be kept relatively free from extreme humidity, just how likely am I to see cupping with those dimensions?

I suppose question 2 would be back bracing them if in your experience it's likely. One of the more knowledgeable guys at the shop suggested maybe using 1/4" thick brace along the back, screwed in with oversized holes. This would give the wood the ability to move along that axis while still preventing the cup. Is that overkill, or should I plan for this?

I appreciate the advice as it will have a significant impact on my planning.

Andrew Pitonyak
10-23-2015, 9:58 AM
You will always have movement. The wider the board the greater the movement, including cupping, twisting, and similar.

I have used large wide boards with no particular issues; for example, a very large shelf about 1" thick. Of course, the board was flat when I started, I finished it. Over the years it has not moved much. Obviously there are issues in general or it would not be common to use bread-board ends when building a wide table. Certainly supports from underneath would help limit / mitigate the tendency to warp.