PDA

View Full Version : First time using TransTint water based dye

Mike Roscoe
10-18-2015, 5:59 PM
Ok, I am looking for suggestions on the proper way to finish soft maple using TransTint dye mixed with water or alcohol. My understanding is I probably want to use distilled water since I am planning to apply the dye by hand. What I have read is if you are using alcohol or mineral spirits (any liquid that flashes quickly) it is best to spray the finish.

I have limited experience with water based dye. The last time I used it on soft maple the blotches were so evident that you could barely tell the wood was maple. I experimented with various sealers both cut 50/50 and uncut. Again the results were not ideal. I have prepped the wood with hand sanding all the way to 800 grit and still had blotches. I've watched videos on curly maple (different animal) than the soft maple and I just cannot find the combination to get a smooth, equal finish. Any help on this would be appreciated. (Keith Outten weigh in if you could or call me)

George Bokros
10-18-2015, 6:09 PM
Last winter I finished a maple sewing machine cabinet my wife purchased in a kit. I used TransTint mixed in distilled water finish coated with ArmrSeal. Prior to applying the dye I treated the maple with Charles Neil Blotch Control per the instructions provided by Charles Neil. The CN Blotch Control provided a finish with zero botching. This is fantastic stuff. Give some consideration to using it.

It is available from Charles Neil link http://www.cn-woodworking.com/

(http://www.cn-woodworking.com/)

John TenEyck
10-18-2015, 7:58 PM