PDA

View Full Version : Write Off My Forrest Chop Master?

Mike Chalmers
10-18-2015, 5:26 PM
I have a 10" 80 tooth Chopmaster on my RAS. A board moved as I was cutting it and caused the blade to be seized in the cut. I had to force the kerf back open by driving a chisel into it. I was not careful enough and broke off a tooth.

I sent an Email to Forrest asking if they repaired their blades, and where I could get it done around where I live. I live in a rural part of Nova Scotia Canada, so I would expect the location given to be some distance away. That Email was never answered.

Is the loss of one tooth going to cause issues? The blade remains true, no warp.

Michael Moscicki
10-18-2015, 5:36 PM
http://www.forrestblades.com/forrest-factory-carbide-saw-blade-sharpening.html
http://www.forrestblades.com/sharpening-shipping-instructions.html

Send it in for repair. You can ship it to Forrest and have them repair it.

Mike Chalmers
10-18-2015, 5:43 PM
Thanks for the info and links. Not sure it is practical once all costs and exchanges are added up.
Question remains. Will using the blade as is cause any big issue?

Rich Engelhardt
10-18-2015, 6:04 PM
I've been running my Freud Dado blade one tooth short for a few years now w/no problems.
As long as the blade runs true and isn't warped I don't see how the loss of one tooth is any big deal.

I could be way off the mark though....

Steve Jenkins
10-18-2015, 6:13 PM
If you have a local sharpening service they probably can replace a tooth.

michael langman
10-18-2015, 6:44 PM
The blade has 80 teeth. That is quite a lot of teeth. I would run it with the missing tooth until it needs to be resharpened.

Mike Chalmers
10-18-2015, 7:29 PM
Thanks for the affirmation of my own take on the issue. Onward I go.

David Eisenhauer
10-18-2015, 7:36 PM
Yeah. My sharpening guy charges something like $5 a tooth for carbide tooth replacement when I send in a blade for sharpening.

David Kumm
10-18-2015, 11:05 PM