PDA

View Full Version : Cabinet shelf pin templates

Kent Adams
10-16-2015, 7:54 AM
I'm new to cabinet making and trying to decide between buying a self centering drill bit in metric or imperial for shelf pins and hinges. The bit I'm looking at from Highland Woodworking is expensive at $30 a piece. Should I go with metric or should I go with imperial for most use cases? For the template on shelf pins, I'm looking at Woodpecker's.

http://www.highlandwoodworking.com/woodpeckers-shelf-pin-template.aspx

http://www.highlandwoodworking.com/fuller14self-centeringdrill.aspx

Mark W Pugh
10-16-2015, 8:02 AM
I don't have this jig, but I did get this one. http://www.rockler.com/jig-itreg-shelving-jig-jig-it174-shelving-jig-set-template-self-centering-bit The bits they use fit snugly in to jig. I use 1/4 for everything. Rockler does have another bit for drilling for shelf pin inserts. Just something else to consider.

Ken Krawford
10-16-2015, 8:27 AM
I just finished drilling a bunch of shelf pin holes and absolutely love the Kreg jig - https://www.kregtool.com/store/c49/measuring-and-marking/p80/shelf-pin-jig-with-frac14-6mm-drill-bit/

It contains both the jig and bit and can easily be found for $29. After using several other jigs, I've found a winner for me.

David Hawxhurst
10-16-2015, 9:00 AM
i made my own. i like to use the router to make the pin holes. here is the article i based mine on. my jig is make to fit up to 42" tall cabinets/panels.
http://www.woodworking.org/WC/GArchive99/4_23holejig.html

William C Rogers
10-16-2015, 9:12 AM
I have two Rockler jigs. I have the one like Mark, but I didn't do well with that one. I got a little off. I then bought this http://www.rockler.com/pro-shelf-drilling-jig from Rockler and had no problems. You do need the self centering bits.

Mark W Pugh
10-16-2015, 10:09 AM