PDA

View Full Version : Waterlox and mirror finish help?

Matt Palumbo
10-15-2015, 10:25 AM
I have never done anything like this before so I apologize if this a very
amateur question. I am making a bar countertop and am using butcher block oak. I
sanded it down with 220 git and then stained with minwax Jacobean. I then
started to apply waterlox original sealer/finish. I have about 5-6 coats of the
waterlox on it now and am still seeing the wood grain through it.

I realize I did not use grain filler but is there a way to achieve a mirror like
finish at this point? Or at least a smooth finish?

Prashun Patel
10-15-2015, 10:37 AM
Apply more and more coats. The OSF is thinned, so it will take a few coats to fill the grain and get substantial build.
Also, know that with time, the sheen will become less glossy, around a semigloss.

You'll know your grain is filled if after sanding the surface with a flat block and 400 or 600grit, you get uniform dulling and no glossy spots.

If you truly want a mirror finish that lasts like that, you might switch to Waterlox Original High Gloss Finish (green can). That's a brushable, full strength varnish that will build and fill in the grain very well. It will also stay glossy longer. You can apply it on top of the OSF.

Matt Palumbo
10-15-2015, 10:48 AM
Apply more and more coats. The OSF is thinned, so it will take a few coats to fill the grain and get substantial build.
Also, know that with time, the sheen will become less glossy, around a semigloss.

You'll know your grain is filled if after sanding the surface with a flat block and 400 or 600grit, you get uniform dulling and no glossy spots.

If you truly want a mirror finish that lasts like that, you might switch to Waterlox Original High Gloss Finish (green can). That's a brushable, full strength varnish that will build and fill in the grain very well. It will also stay glossy longer. You can apply it on top of the OSF.