PDA

View Full Version : Anyone hit any "black European full-grain leather" with a laser?

Kev Williams
10-06-2015, 1:32 AM
One of my newer and better customers wants me to laser etch a bunch of $200 Mont Blanc leather wallets with a logo I've yet to see...

I've had real good luck with leather for the most part, although my motorcycle seat customer had a change in black leather, and while the old stuff turned a nice tan color, good contrast and all, the new stuff would just go a different shade of black. Even my 80w Triumph would barely mark the stuff. And it had a tar smell to it. (If ever I want to make something out of leather that will never wear out, I'm going to look up the stuff!)

Anyway, I have nothing to sample test except a $200 wallet. Not my favorite way to find out it won't work...

Hoping someone may have a positive experience (or not) to share? :)

Jack Clague
10-06-2015, 1:53 AM
Hi Kev,

I am new to this industry so please take my experience with a massive bag of salt on the side, I have engraved around 6 different types of leather so far, now two of those pieces were a dark expensive leather (cut offs after production) i noticed that although hard to tell they had allot of additional coatings from the final leather, I spoke with the lady I am doing a bit of leather work for and she said they usually coat the expensive leathers in allot of oils and sometimes use a heavy set dye, this might be one of the reasons you got a tar smell that time you tried to laser into the darker leather.

I found the laser works well on untreated or tanned only leather (before final prep)

I would be highly interested in how you go.

Mike Null
10-06-2015, 7:30 AM
The reason I would refuse the job is that leathers like that are relatively thin hence, when engraved, become brittle and can crack. The wallet would be ruined.

It is likely that the leather will be black all the way through so you could make a fairly good but subtle mark were it not for the thickness issue.