PDA

View Full Version : Blum locking device question

Michael Weber
10-02-2015, 2:26 AM
have a question about the T51.1901.PS locking device. I have zero experience with this item and Blum slides in general. This device is for adjusting an inset drawer in and out. It has an extra adjustment that hangs about 1/2 inch below where a standard locking device depth is. Will I have to allow another 1/2inch below the drawer bottom? In other words will I need to provide an inch below the drawer bottom instead of the standard 1/2 inch?

Martin Wasner
10-02-2015, 6:41 AM
Nope. The drawer bottom needs to be ½" up from the bottom of the drawer. You can set the slides all the way to the bottom of your opening.

Ken Krawford
10-02-2015, 7:04 AM
I just used these for the first time on a project. Personally I wouldn't buy them again. Just put a couple of your mounting screws in the slots and use them for in/out adjustment. I found the adjustment range for this device was fairly minimal. Just my opinion - others may differ.

Justin Ludwig
10-02-2015, 7:07 AM
They are great when building inset cabinets. That minimal adjustment turns out to be more than enough when you use a 3/32" inset margin. If my customers want to pay for them, I happily install them.

Jeff Duncan
10-02-2015, 8:57 PM
I'm with Martin on this one, you don't need extra height and you don't need those clips. When doing inset I always do one full drawer box setup first. I use the elongated slot in the slide to make any adjustments forward/back to get my front exactly where I want it. Then I set all the rest of the slides to that same dimension. Now the built-in height adjustment does come in handy on occasion, not necessary either, but handy;)

good luck,
JeffD

Michael Weber
10-02-2015, 11:06 PM
Thanks everyone.

Martin Wasner
10-03-2015, 10:36 AM