PDA

View Full Version : Software, laser settings ???

Roy Sanders
09-22-2015, 7:54 AM
Hello Group,

I notice that many of you can set your settings for speed, power, etcetera. I have a Chinese laser and was sent CorelLaser to run the laser. It does not allow these type of settings. My questions then;

is there a software replacement you use that allows settings?
is there a way to set up the print settings in CorelDraw that allows this?
How do you do this?

I am so green at this laser business that I feel like a sprout barely emerging from the ground, looking up and seeing grown trees.

thanks for your expert suggestions.

Roy :confused:

Mike Null
09-22-2015, 10:42 AM
Roy

CorelDraw does not offer the ability to set laser settings. I have no experience with Chinese lasers but all of the other machines I have used have these settings in the proprietary drivers.

Ross Moshinsky
09-22-2015, 11:03 AM
Chinese lasers work flow is like this:

Design in Corel Draw. Setup drawing so it can be imported into your Chinese software. This means clean, closed paths, and not using things like stroke or stacking stuff on top of each other to get a desired result. Chinese lasers are not WYSIWYG like Western Machines. Then save your file as an EPS or AI, typically a low version like V8. Now you import your file into your laser software (LaserDraw in your case). This is when you have the chance to setup your speed, power, resolution, and whatever other settings may be available to you. After everything is set, NOW you can send the job to the laser and run it.

Bill George
09-22-2015, 1:10 PM
But he is not using Corel Draw but Corel Laser which might be a Chinese invention?

Anyway Roy did your laser come with any other software such as LaserCutEngrave or something like that? What controller do you have and does it need a dongle to run either the software or machine?

Bert Kemp
09-22-2015, 1:15 PM