PDA

View Full Version : How to use backer veneer on a side table

Adam Aron
09-18-2015, 2:51 PM
Hi, I'm new to veneering. I've read a veneering book and watched videos only. My project is to make a side table with a solid top that has a construction similar to this:

I've been advised to use a backer veneer in addition to the main veneer for stability. However, I'd be gluing the pieces for the skirt and legs directly to the backer veneer, and that doesn't seem right. Or maybe this is just fine... Can someone please advise me a little on how to use a backer veneer on a side table that is similar to the one in the image?

P.S. The veneer will be adhered to the alder top using a veneer vacuum press and Weldwood plastic resin glue.

Thanks, Adam

John TenEyck
09-18-2015, 4:11 PM
You should not glue the aprons/legs to the top when using a solid wood top. Use some means of mechanical attachment that allowed for seasonal expansion/contraction.

John

Matt Day
09-18-2015, 4:46 PM
Does your design have individual pieces of wood instead of a panel? Spaces in between?

Adam Aron
09-18-2015, 10:05 PM
Does your design have individual pieces of wood instead of a panel? Spaces in between?

No, it is a panel... 3 boards glued up.

Adam Aron
09-18-2015, 10:06 PM
You should not glue the aprons/legs to the top when using a solid wood top. Use some means of mechanical attachment that allowed for seasonal expansion/contraction.

Makes sense. I wonder what joining technique I should use...

Frank Drew
09-18-2015, 10:37 PM
Adam,

Does the drawing accurately describe the understructure you plan to make?

Matt Day
09-18-2015, 10:44 PM
For mechanical attachment, I'd recommend this type:
http://www.leevalley.com/us/Hardware/page.aspx?p=40146&cat=3,43715,43726&ap=1

Adam Aron
09-19-2015, 1:00 AM
Adam,

Does the drawing accurately describe the understructure you plan to make?