PDA

View Full Version : New Veritas Smoother - Chipbreaker Problem?

Jason Lester
09-17-2015, 7:49 PM
I got a new Veritas #4 for my birthday today. After honing the blade and going through all the setup, I kept having a problem getting both sides to take even shavings. I tried a bunch of different things and then finally took it back apart and checked everything again. It appears that the edge of the chipbreaker is not ground flat or perpendicular to the sides. If I hold a square up to it, there's a noticeable gap on one corner. When I attach it to the blade, I can either get the edges parallel or the sides parallel, but not both at the same time. If I cock it sideways enough to get the edges parallel, then the chipbreaker is offset away from the opposite corner of the blade.

I guess I need to call Lee Valley, but just wondering if anyone has run into something like that before? I'm relatively new to hand planes, so I checked and double-checked to make sure I was seeing what I thought I was. I checked with multiple squares as well.

Thanks
Jason

Jim Koepke
09-17-2015, 7:59 PM
The call to Lee Valley should rectify your problem.

Let us know what happens and how it turns out.

The problem of uneven shaving can also happen with cambered blades. Though with a cambered blade one is trying to get the shaving to disappear at the edges.

jtk

Jason Lester
09-17-2015, 8:30 PM
Jim,

The uneven shaving was just a symptom, I think. I tried to get a photo just now, but can't hold everything steady enough. If I put my best PEC square flat along the side of the chipbreaker, there's about 1/16" gap on one side of the edge. Swapping side to side of both the square and chipbreaker show the same thing. The edge is completely flat though, just not perpendicular to the sides. It's like if you are honing a blade and don't have it squared in your jig so one edge is ground back further than the other.

Jason

Tom Vanzant
09-17-2015, 9:49 PM