PDA

View Full Version : Lasers and Humidity

Bert Kemp
09-16-2015, 4:35 PM
I'm thinking of moving to a more humid area, I'm wondering if its easier and cheaper to dehumidify the laser room or to a/c it.

Kev Williams
09-16-2015, 5:09 PM
A dehumidifier just removes humidity, an AC unit does the same thing but you get the benefit of the cool air. Unless you don't need the cool air. What to do with the cool air when you don't need it is the question...

David Somers
09-16-2015, 5:19 PM
How about just not moving to a more humid area? (grin)

Seattle can be fairly humid in the winter. Though not horribly. Summers are usually quite dry.
In the fall/winter/spring I heat my garage when I work in it, and since it is attached to the house it generally stays at ambient temp otherwise, 40 to 45 at night? I have a small goldenrod heater that I put in the bottom of the machine and that generates enough heat to eliminate any condensation in the machine. It is in the main cabinet, not in the tube space. It keeps the machine a bit higher than ambient temp. I also made an insulated cover, kind of like you would use on an outdoor BBQ grill when not in use? The inside layer is a fuzzy kind of material so you do not have plastic up agaist the metal directly, holding moisture against it. I use that more as a tool to keep dust out when I am working on other machines in the shop. But it also helps to hold a bit of that heat in from the Golden Rod. The golden Rod is very low power consumption and perhaps safer than a light bulb left running in the machine? That is just a guess on my part of course. Anecdotal only.