PDA

View Full Version : Turning a book into a block of wood

Brian Kent
09-13-2015, 10:41 PM
I saw a picture of a book or catalogue that was glued together into a solid block, and then used for turning. Any idea how to do that glue-up?

Decoupage? Wood solidifier? Book transmorgrifier?

Brian Myers
09-13-2015, 11:34 PM
http://www.robertflyon.com/ewExternalFiles/RobertLyon.pdf

Dale Bonertz
09-14-2015, 8:07 AM
Trent Bosch's daughter has been working with this concept. You may drop Trent an email.

David Walser
09-14-2015, 9:14 AM
I'm a tax accountant and, when I read that article, I thought this would be the perfect way to recycle old copies of the Internal Revenue Code and Regulations. I've never gotten around to cutting the bindings off and spreading glue on each and every page. That could take days!

Recently, I've started wondering if this would be a good use for Cactus Juice. I don't have a stabilization set up yet, so I cannot try it out myself. Any thoughts?

Brian Kent
09-14-2015, 10:30 AM
The Cactus juice sounds interesting. I wonder about the 50% glue, 50% water soak, followed by pressing with weight. Another thought is a finish-type epoxy that can be put on very thin with pages rolled together. 3M spray glue, sticking the pages together with spray lacquer, thin coats of de-waxed shellac. I also wonder about the difference between shiny catalogue paper and more absorbent news-printy stuff.

I'm on another huge project at the moment but when I clear some space for experiments I am looking forward to trying it.

John Keeton
09-14-2015, 10:43 AM
I have seen this described before, and each time I see it I come to the same conclusion - with all the stunningly beautiful and colorful wood that God provided for our enjoyment, I just cannot see spending hours on end gluing up paper!! But.....each to his or her own, I guess.

Mel Fulks
09-14-2015, 10:52 AM
John, it is kinda like making coal out of diamonds.

Dan Hintz
09-14-2015, 11:50 AM