PDA

View Full Version : New to Laser Engravers - Classes/Recommendations?

Megan Farwell
09-05-2015, 9:48 PM
Hi all!

My name is Megan, I'm very new to the engraving world but trying to learn all that I can. I've been reading threads for a few weeks, finally registered.

My husband and I are considering starting small hobby engraving business. Right now, we are focusing mostly on doing smaller personalized gifts (cutting boards, picture frames, keepsake boxes). Primary material would be wood, and I think a 12x24 table would be sufficient for now. We are thinking it would be run out of our garage.

My main question, is it even feasible to buy a machine for $5k? Hopefully US made, but I would consider a Chinese machine with US support. At this time, that is pretty much the max we can invest.

Also, are there any types of classes/books/anything we can do to learn more about these machines other than just reading these forums, haha? We don't have any connections within the business.

Thanks for your time!

Jack Clague
09-05-2015, 9:56 PM
Hi Megan I'm in a very similar scenario to you although my budget is a little higher. Have you seen my thread?

A good guide for a general overview is the engravers journal 2015 buyers guide. Its free to download from their site.

Bert Kemp
09-06-2015, 7:31 AM
Hi Megan,Welcome to the creek,