PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a band saw

Wes Ramsey
09-01-2015, 3:18 PM
I'm about ready to invest some money in a band saw. I've got a few options and would like to solicit some opinions from those willing to give them.

Primary use will be to resaw 8-9" boards and round up turning blanks. Space is not really an issue. I'm a hobby woodworker so I don't need anything industrial-strength. I would rather have a quality tool, but lower-end or used is acceptable. I will mostly be resawing oak, cherry, walnut and other local hardwoods. My father-in-law has an old sawmill, but it is a circular mill and not at all suited for resawing. I think $1600 is about the absolute max I will have to spend, and I will need to have enough left to invest in a decent resaw blade.

I've found a like-new, 2014 model Grizzly G0566B locally for $1650. I don't know anything about it other than it is for sale. (I'm trying to round up the $$ before I go wasting other peoples' time.) Creeker comments on this saw seem to be very positive. I think it would be a good one, but I'm wondering if I can perform these operations effectively on a less-expensive, new model and have money left over. Grizz has some other models that are less expensive, and Laguna has a couple of saws in that price range, but I don't know if any of them will fit the bill as well as the G0566B.

Thoughts?

Cary Falk
09-01-2015, 4:19 PM
I wouldn't hesitate buying the G0566B but I might try to get the price a little. For about the same money you can have a G0514x2 new delivered. I have the G0513x2 and love it.

Allan Speers
09-01-2015, 7:22 PM
With your budget, and your maximum resaw height, you happily have a number of good options.