PDA

View Full Version : Euro block suggestion

Susumu Mori
08-30-2015, 9:45 AM
Hi all,

I recently received my Hammer Saw/Shaper (30mm arbor). This is my first shaper and need your guidance.
I decided to buy a groove cutter, a rebate head, and a Euro block.
Among them, I have questions for groove cutters and Euro blocks.

For groove cutters, do you see significant difference among those with and without scorers? Those with scorers tend to have exchangeable blades and more expensive. I assume those are good investment? The cheapest one from Felder with scorers cost $320 (4-8mm) and additional blade (8-20mm) cost $160 more. I don't think Felder makes them. Maybe I should look at other places but 30 mm arbor seems a bit limiting, unless I go for European companies,,,

By the way, I'm a hobbyist and the cutters won't see miles of boards, but I'd appreciate long-lasting investments.

For the Euro blocks, I want a MAN rated one with limiters, but I don't see them from CMT, Amana, and other US vendors. Felder's universal cutter is at $130 and each blade seems around $50 with limiters. I guess these are reasonable. Those without limiters from CMT and Amana are cheaper. I'm waiting for my power feeder now but I expect to do manual feeding (with a fence) for smaller projects. So, I assume MAN-rated is a good choice?

I would appreciate any suggestions about selections of cutters and vendors.

Thanks!

Mike Delyster
08-30-2015, 11:17 AM
The topic of Euro Block multi profile cutterheads was brought up in a recent thread and I don't remember a US vendor offering one with the chip limiters. Dimar (http://dimar-canada.com/products.php?m=56&idp=44) a Canadian company has a head with chip limiters that can run either 40mm or 50mm knives with limiters, with the exchange rate on the Canadian dollar being low at this time this might be an option. As you have a 30mm spindle you will most likely have to bush up to an 1-1/4" bore or else go with a European company.