PDA

View Full Version : Rockwell RC-33 planer questions.

Bob Cumming
08-29-2015, 11:48 AM
Newbie here, first post.

Although I'm not an experienced woodworker (deck building/light carpentry and similar projects), I acquired a 13" Rockwell RC-33 planer from the estate of a very good friend who was an accomplished woodcrafter, carver, Kentucky rifle maker, and 16th century printing press builder whose work is known throughout this country and many others. When he passed, his shop remained intact until his wife (suffering from worsening dementia), moved to a managed care facility with the family dog. His name was Richard "Dick" Hicks whose reputation may be known among some members of this forum. Dick's son, Steve, is a furniture maker with great talent who, like his father, has made and sold his craftwork throughout the U.S.

Unfortunately, Dick was--as his wife once told me--not a goal oriented person. Rather he was a man whose talent was rooted in processes. When he died in his late 80's, his shop was completely disorganized, full of wood dust and shavings that accumulated since the 1970's when he built his house that he and his wife lived in. He had little or no need for operator's manuals; One of his prize tools was an enormous machinist lathe on which he turned and bore rifle barrels that must have weighed a ton at least. Like all his tools, Dick simply used them until they no longer held tolerances. Then he'd jerry-rig some kind of fix-it that allowed him to continue working. As a result of his lack of appreciation for keeping essential paperwork or small maintenance tools unique to each machine, the Rockwell RC-33 planer that I purchased didn't come with that all important knife gauge supplied with the machine. We did, however, locate the original instruction manual. This model 22650 planer was made in Brazil in September 1989, Ser. No. 7075 (shown on the data plate).