PDA

View Full Version : Epilog laser losing power. How do I identify the problem?

Luke Gautreau
08-25-2015, 6:10 PM
So I've been using an Epilog Radius 25w laser engraver for the last 5 years or so. And about a year or so ago, I've noticed that the power has steadily been declining. Jobs that I used to run at SPEED-100, POWER-70 now have to be ran at SPEED-60, POWER-80 with multiple passes to look decent. My first reaction was to replace the lens as it was nasty. I've done that and I have seen next to no increase in performance.

How do I go about trying to identify and solve the problem in my loss of performance?

Rich Harman
08-25-2015, 6:39 PM
Are your mirrors clean? Have you checked alignment? Are you focused correctly?

Keith Winter
08-25-2015, 7:47 PM
So I've been using an Epilog Radius 25w laser engraver for the last 5 years or so. And about a year or so ago, I've noticed that the power has steadily been declining. Jobs that I used to run at SPEED-100, POWER-70 now have to be ran at SPEED-60, POWER-80 with multiple passes to look decent. My first reaction was to replace the lens as it was nasty. I've done that and I have seen next to no increase in performance.

How do I go about trying to identify and solve the problem in my loss of performance?

If the lens was nasty then definitely check all the mirrors they are probably dirty too, then alignment.

If you are regularly using the laser you should be checking your lens every day, and your side mirror once a month. Backmost mirrors less often but a quick check every now and then doesn't hurt. ;)

Gary Hair
08-25-2015, 10:32 PM
If the lens was nasty then definitely check all the mirrors they are probably dirty too, then alignment.

If you are regularly using the laser you should be checking your lens every day, and your side mirror once a month. Backmost mirrors less often but a quick check every now and then doesn't hurt. ;)

Yep, yep and another yep.

Chris J Anderson
08-26-2015, 9:09 AM