PDA

View Full Version : New and different turning (pix)

Keith Burns
08-23-2005, 8:40 AM
This is my first attempt at a "hanging" vessel. It is segmented Bubinga and contains 80 pieces plus the supports. Supports are aluminum rod. It is 5-3/4" diameter x 10" overall height. The turning is not fastened to the support as pressure was enough to hold it. Any negative comments you may have are taken as constructive. Thanks for looking.

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b239/berniewood/26.jpg

Jeff Sudmeier
08-23-2005, 8:43 AM
Keith, that is wonderful looking! I really like the aluminum supports!!

The only thing that catches my eye is that everything in the peice is round and flowing except for the top supports that suport the rim of the vessel, they are sharp and pointed.

All in all, if I saw this in a shop, it would be one I would examine closely! I LOVE IT!! Overall great work (I may be totally off in my above comments :))

Sam Blasco
08-23-2005, 9:03 AM
Simple, elegant, yet complex. Visually alluring. Nice work! It would have been interesting if you could have maintained the segmented look with the base, as well. Just a thought.

Bruce Page
08-23-2005, 9:33 AM
Keith, I really like the hanging vessel and the three supports. The only thing that jumps out at me is the base, it is rather plain looking. I think the base would be more pleasing if it were also radially segmented like the vessel.

JMHO

Charlie Plesums
08-23-2005, 10:16 AM
Overall a beautiful, outstanding piece.

I agree with the comments about the base being too "plain."

I like the contrast provided by the holders (pointy rather than rounded), but they give the impression that they are sagging. When you start making these in volume, consider putting the rod in the upper holder at an angle - same entry point but closer to the inner arc rather than parallel to the outside edge - I think it might give the holder an "uplifting" feeling.

Despite the nit-pick suggestions, a wonderful piece

Charles Hans