PDA

View Full Version : Work flow question - after you cut a board from a log…

Todd Burch
08-24-2015, 3:39 PM
After you cut a board from a log, what are your steps to the eventual stickered stack?

As you cut, do you sticker immediately, or do you cut and put boards into a dead stack, and then when finished sawing, then sticker?

If you have a kiln do you pick up the stickered stack with some forks and set the whole shebang into the kiln? Or, perhaps you take your dead stack and sticker inside the kiln?

After kiln drying, do you store your wood in the kiln if you don't have any new boards to load into the kiln?

After kiln dying, do you sticker the boards outdoors or move them inside and perhaps dead or vertically stack them?

Cody Colston
08-24-2015, 5:17 PM
Todd, I'm no expert and don't sell lumber but here's how I generally do it.

I almost always air dry before going to the kiln. Off the saw, I sticker-stack the boards on some 4x4's and when the stack is built, I pick it up with the tractor forks and move it to a prepared base then cover with metal roofing. Before I use lumber for indoor projects, I'll move it into my solar kiln, stacking by hand because my kiln is narrower than my 42" air-drying stacks (I try to leave 8" of space in front and behind the kiln stacks). Once the lumber has dried to 7% MC, I move it into the shop and dead stack it. I usually begin working the lumber immediately after moving it to the shop. I have left lumber in the kiln for months when I didn't have anything to kiln dry or when I postponed a project for some reason because I just don't have that much storage capacity inside the shop. It doesn't seem to get below 6% MC no matter how long it stays in there.

If I am going directly from the saw to the kiln, I dead stack it directly onto the tractor forks move it to the kiln and hand-sticker it inside the kiln.