PDA

View Full Version : Epilog coordinate system question

Karl Lautman
08-23-2015, 7:52 PM
I have an Epilog Helix I'm still learning to use. I've created a large letter E in Illustrator which I've printed out on a laser printer and want to cut out on the engraver. The stroke width is .001" and the page is 8.5" x 11" portrait. I import this file into Corel and all relevant settings are preserved (stroke is set to hairline). I set the origin to the upper-left corner of the E, not the page. In the Epilog driver, I select vector cutting, 8.5"W x 11"H material, and deselect center artwork. On the engraver I place the page with the narrow edge against the x-axis and the long edge several inches away from the y-axis. I reset home to the upper-left corner of the E on the printout. When I print the job on the engraver, it cuts nowhere near the printed E; the cut is offset beneath and to the right of where it should be. What am I doing wrong? Thanks for you help.

Doug Griffith
08-23-2015, 11:46 PM
I have an Epilog Helix I'm still learning to use. I've created a large letter E in Illustrator which I've printed out on a laser printer and want to cut out on the engraver. The stroke width is .001" and the page is 8.5" x 11" portrait. I import this file into Corel and all relevant settings are preserved (stroke is set to hairline). I set the origin to the upper-left corner of the E, not the page. In the Epilog driver, I select vector cutting, 8.5"W x 11"H material, and deselect center artwork. On the engraver I place the page with the narrow edge against the x-axis and the long edge several inches away from the y-axis. I reset home to the upper-left corner of the E on the printout. When I print the job on the engraver, it cuts nowhere near the printed E; the cut is offset beneath and to the right of where it should be. What am I doing wrong? Thanks for you help.