PDA

View Full Version : Naniwa Hayabusa 4k review

Matthew N. Masail
08-23-2015, 4:06 PM
---As always I write this review simply to help others when looking for info. I rely on the web to gather info when I'm looking for something so this is just a way to return a favor. Of course everything said is my opinion from my own experience, and as with everything YMMV!--

Not too long ago Naniwa introduced 3 new ceramic stones, a 1k, a 4k and a 8k. These seem to have got really good feedback and are price very well, so I decided to try the 4k Hayabusa stone, I have been using this stone for about 6 months both at home and at work.
at the time of writing this TFJ has it for about 33$. I will compare it to the Chosera 3k for reference since they fill about the same spot in a lineup, and taking into account the Chosera 3k is probably one of the best you can get, but much more expensive.

Hardness\feel:
- at first this stone seemed to be harder than it really is, in that is has a firm feel and doesn't release slurry in use. after a while I found that it is quite softer than the 3K Chosera, and it is possible to gouge it if you snow-plow into it with a chisels edge.

-it keeps it's flatness fairly well and flattens without any problem. it doesn't feel "ceramic", more like a hard version of the clay type stones, but it's not messy at all, rather it feels more dry. in fact it's one of the least messy stones I own. the Chosera 3k, which is harder, produces more 'mud' than this one.

Effectiveness\use:
A thing to note about this stone is how light it is. at first I didn't notice it, but compared to the Chosera 3k it is light as a feather! the Chosera is like a solid brick, very heavy. I suppose the pricing makes more sense now. Despite this it is still one of the most effective stone I have used in it's grit range.