PDA

View Full Version : Any info on hair transplants?

dennis thompson
08-21-2015, 8:06 PM
My grandson,who is only 21, is losing his hair very quickly. As you might imagine he is very upset and self conscious about it. He and I have been discussing hair transplants but neither of us know anything about it. Well, I do know one thing, they are very expensive and not covered by insurance. Does anyone know anything about hair transplants?
thanks

Jim Koepke
08-21-2015, 8:19 PM
Over 40 years ago, when my hair was thinning, I decided a hat looks better and cost a lot less than any of the other remedies for going bald.

jtk

Wade Lippman
08-21-2015, 9:09 PM
I sure don't, but first thing I would check is to see if whatever is causing his hair loss will affect the transplanted hair.

John M Wilson
08-21-2015, 9:23 PM
I also lost my hair at a fairly young age, being quite bald by age 25. (This was in the early 80's, and "hair" was important then). I was a young engineer, and I had a meeting with a very successful, young-ish, owner of a supplier to our company. He was in his early 30's, and much balder than me, so I could picture myself becoming like him. He had his remaining hair cut quite short (another anomaly in the 80's) and had no comb-over, hat, or any other device to hide his pate. He was good looking and confident, and it changed my perspective completely.

I realized that this guy was good looking, and had no hair. Clearly, to me, these things had become "de-coupled". After that, I began to notice that the only bald guys that drew my attention had comb-overs, visible hair transplants, or wore ball caps with a business suit. The only ones I noticed were the ones who were trying to hide it from me. All of the other "regular" bald guys were just guys with less hair. If it didn't matter to them, it didn't matter to me.