PDA

View Full Version : Bandsaw blade question, can you confirm or deny

Scott Brandstetter
08-21-2015, 12:06 AM
I happened to be at my local Woodcrafter Store today, looking for a 143 inch blade for the new 19 inch grizzly. They didn't have any in stock and got to talking with Charlie. I asked him about carbide tipped blades (a fellow member told me to go all in with the carbide tipped blade) and he said they are great with "wet" wood but stink with kiln dried wood. Does this make sense...kind of new to high end blades and re-sawing. I had planned to buy a few wood slicers but it got me thinking. Any thoughts appreciated.

Andrew Hughes
08-21-2015, 12:16 AM
Scott he must of got it mixed up,My experience has been the opposite green wood needs lots of set and big gullets.I have a woodmaster Ct it will do it but it gets gummed up pretty quick.And I'm sure it's shortining its life.

glenn bradley
08-21-2015, 8:41 AM
Its always painful when a clerk has heard and misunderstood something (or perhaps just has a very different opinion) and passes it along as fact. You are right to get a second read on anything that sounds off.

Julie Moriarty
08-21-2015, 9:05 AM
My personal experience does not enable me to confirm the clerk's claims. I don't cut green wood but I do use carbide blades on dried wood all the time and they work fine. I also have a few Woodslicer blades and when sharp work well but they dull quickly.

Mike Cutler
08-21-2015, 10:26 AM
Scott

Agree with the rest. He either didn't understand your question, or did not listen to it completely, when he answered it.

Kiln dried wood, and hard dense tropicals, are the bread and butter of carbide tooth blades. They're the reason, along with life of blade and quality of cut, that you spend 4 or 5 times as much for a single blade.

As a tip;