PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading a Chinese 40W Laser Questions

Mark Taylor2
08-15-2015, 3:16 AM
I hope I don't violate any rules here but I have some questions that maybe someone here can help with...

I'm a hobbyist and use my laser cutter/engraver to almost exclusively cut woods which are entirely fruit woods or exotics such as boxwood.

I have a 4OW laser/engraver, Micromark brand. It has an MYJG40W power supply with 220 Vac in and 30kV/20mA output. The tube is obviously not a "true" 40W as it's about 700mm long which I understand makes it a 32/35W tube. I've already upgraded the lens to an 18mm F50.8 (2") lens and this made the kerf go down to about 1/2 as wide as the "stock" lens. It's also cutting cleaner which by that, I get better cuts with less charring.

I'm giving thought to upgrading the tube soon as I'd like to cut wood in one pass that's thicker than 3/16" and up to 1/4". I've located a source of tubes over at Lightobject for "true" 40W at 850mm long which needs 20kV/15mA. It appears that the power supply should drive the tube. They do have a 45W tube at 1000mm which needs the same 20kV/15mA input.

I know that I'll need to put a tube extension on my case for either tube and tweak the tube mounts if I go for the 45W.

The question is will the 40W cut 1/4 hardwood? Or should I go for the 45W tube and if so, will the power supply handle it?

I know I'm probably out of my mind, but then again, I never could leave anything "stock".

Bert Kemp
08-15-2015, 8:22 AM
Tube sizes just for reference so you get the right power and a real 40 watt tube should cut 6mm plywood.Laser tube (30W): (Length=900mm, Diameter=51mm)
Expected Life: 1200-2000 hours
Laser Tube, 30 Watt (38 Watts MAX, 30 Watts nominal)
https://www.paypalobjects.com/en_US/i/scr/pixel.gif LTUBE-30W

Laser tube (40W): (Length=1010mm, Diameter=51mm)
Expected Life: 2000+ hours
Laser Tube, 40 Watt (48 Watts MAX, 40 Watts nominal)
https://www.paypalobjects.com/en_US/i/scr/pixel.gif LTUBE-40W