PDA

View Full Version : Tung Oil question....

patrick alexander
08-14-2015, 9:12 AM
I have a walnut coffee table that has several coats of tung oil on it. Over the years, the surface has become scratched, etc. Quick and dirty "touch up" products don't seem to help at all. So, do I have to strip the entire surface? If so, how? Sanding or, is there a product that will remove the tung oil along with scraping?

Concerning products, I have another piece also with tung oil on it. I used Murphy's Wood Soap on it and it seemed to remove the tung oil. That really surprised me...I didn't think wood soap would remove a lacquer.

It's my first time on this forum, so thanks for any help.

PA

Erik Loza
08-14-2015, 9:55 AM
I'm no authority on finishing but in my experience, if the surface is physically scratched up, it will probably need to be sanded, then re-finished. If it were my table, I would just get at it with my RO sander (starting with perhaps 200 or 400-grit, then working down from there; it would really depend on how sever the scratching is). I'm sure someone with more experience than me will chime in but that's how I'd approach it.

Regarding the murphy soap, I always found that stuff to be rather strong. Too strong, in fact. I made a simple bookcase out of solid cherry boards many years ago, and finished it with Tung (pretty straight Tung from what I recall, not that Waterlox-type stuff). The only maintenance I ever did was just to wipe it with damp cloth.

Good luck with all of it.

Erik

michael langman
08-14-2015, 10:45 AM
Agree with Eric, Just sand out scratches and recoat the repaired area.

Cody Colston
08-14-2015, 11:19 AM
Since (pure) tung oil penetrates the wood surface, chemical strippers will not remove it. I would do as suggested, sand it smooth and re-apply tung oil. BTW, tung oil is not a lacquer.

Randy Goodhew
08-16-2015, 9:44 AM
What type/brand of "tung oil" did you use?

Blessings.

John TenEyck
08-16-2015, 11:07 AM